Photography by: Marko Manthey, Oliver Franke /

The world’s top FMX riders assembled in Riga for NIGHT of the JUMPs and the eighth round of the FIM Freestyle MX World Championship. Since 2007, Arena Riga has been the regular venue for the Latvian Freestyle Motocross World Championship Grand Prix.


There were two surprises in the starting field with the inclusion of Brice Izzo (FRA) and Rob Adelberg (AUS). The Frenchman was returning to the World Championship fray after a serious fall in the summer. Meanwhile, the Australian was making his first appearance at the NIGHT of the JUMPS since 2010. Both put in a decent performance in qualifying to book places in the final round.

The audience gasped with anxiety when Hannes Ackermann (GER) failed to reconnect with his bike after his Flintstone and took a big slam. The fall seemed to affect the confidence of his friend, David Rinaldo, who crashed into the barrier after one of his tricks. Although the championship leader from France was able to continue, he immediately registered a dead sailor. With that, his chances of progressing to the final were zero, but even worse, so were his prospects of retaining the championship lead, as Podmol had already made it through. The Spanish duo of Maikel Melero and Jose Miralles and Czech rider Petr Pilat completed the Top Six.

Although Germany’s Kai Haase was a lowly ninth, he had the consolation of winning the Rockwell Watch Best Whip Contest. But his evening then got even better over the course of a thrilling battle with Massimo Bianconcini in the Maxxis Highest Air Contest. The Italian was in great form but ultimately stumbled at the 7.8-metre mark. The German rider had no such problem and claimed his third victory of the year in the high jump event.

The 7,300 spectators then experienced a tense and exciting finale. Jose Miralles pulled out all his tricks but had to concede defeat to Izzo in the battle for fifth place. In his first engagement since injury, the Frenchman is back to his former self and even included a Tsunami Flip.

 Maikel Melero

Red Bull rider Petr Pilat reeled off an incredible flip package with plenty of landing and take-off tricks, missing out on a podium by only the narrowest of margins. Maikel Melero pulled off a Double Seatgrab Flip in the double-up to secure second place at the expense of Libor Podmol. But the podium for the Czech ace was still good enough to take him to the top of the world championship standings – a win on the evening would have obviously been even better for his title challenge.

 Libor Podmol

However, there was only one man who deserved outright victory in the Latvian NIGHT of the JUMPs Grand Prix, and that was Rob Adelberg. The Australian performed perfect Tsunami and Cliffhanger flips plus a Superman Indy to Clicker Flip combo.

 Rob Adelberg

The next round of the FIM Freestyle MX World Championship takes place in a fortnight (November 8th) when the contestants travel to Liberec for the Czech Grand Prix in the context of NIGHT of the JUMPs.

Results NIGHT of the JUMPs – Final

1. Rob Adelberg AUS MA Yamaha 386 Points

2. Maikel Melero ESP RFME KTM 382 Points

3. Libor Podmol CZE ACCR Yamaha 370 Points

4. Petr Pilat CZE ACCR KTM 363 Points

5. Brice Izzo FRA FFM Yamaha 344 Points

6. Jose Miralles ESP RFME KTM 343 Points

Results MAXXIS Highest Air

1. Kai Haase GER Suzuki 7,80 Meters

2. Massimo Bianconcini ITA KTM 7,50 Meters

2. Jose Miralles ESP KTM 7,50 Meters

2. Maikel Melero ESP KTM 6,50 Meters

Results ROCKWELL Best Whip Contest

1. Kai Haase GER DMSB Suzuki


FIM Freestyle MX World Championships

Ranking (after 8th contest)

1. Libor Podmol CZE ACCR Yamaha 128 Points

2. David Rinaldo FRA FFM Yamaha 125 Points

3. Brice Izzo FRA FFM Yamaha   95 Points

4. Dany Torres ESP RFME KTM   84 Points

5. Petr Pilat CZE ACCR KTM   79 Points

6. Remi Bizouard FRA FFM Kawasaki    72 Points

7. Jose Miralles ESP RFME KTM   71 Points

8. Maikel Melero ESP RFME KTM   71 Points

9. Hannes Ackermann GER DMSB KTM   67 Points

10. Massimo Bianconcini ITA PZM KTM   57 Points

11. Kai Haase GER DMSB Suzuki 43 Points

12. Clinton Moore AUS MA Yamaha 22 Points

13. Rob Adelberg AUS MA Yamaha 20 Points

13. Gabriel Villegas CHL FMC KTM 16 Points

14. Rich Kearns USA AMA Kawasaki 10 Points


Facebook Comments