Munich, 27th April 2013: Fans of freestyle motocross saw a world class level of riding at NIGHT of the JUMPS in Munich on Saturday night. The world’s top FMX riders descended on a sold-out Olympiahalle for the third round of the Freestyle MX European Championship, where a frenzied crowd drove them on to surpass themselves.

photo: Oliver Franke /

Qualification was dominated by Spanish torero Dany Torres who stamped his authority on the proceedings with a Lazyflip, Paris Hilton and an Oxecutioner flip. Flying not far behind was David Rinaldo. Joining them in the final were Libor Podmol, Brice Izzo, Jose Miralles and Maikel Melero. Berliner Kai Haase narrowly missed out this time as seventh best rider, but when P7 is your best NIGHT of the JUMPs result to date, that is also something to celebrate. He was followed by Russian rider Koleshnikov in eighth. NIGHT of the JUMPs veteran Chris Brock (GB) was drafted in as a late replacement. After seven years’ absence from the scene, he will have been well satisfied with a Top Ten placing in his comeback.

Chris Brock. photo: Oliver Franke /

But the Englishman had even more cause for celebration with victory in the ROCKWELL Time Best Whip, in which he saw off the challenge from eight other riders. The MAXXIS Race & Style contest was won by Brice Izzo. Other highlights on the support programme were the Megaramp mountain bikers and Australian FMX superwoman Emma McFerran wowing the crowd with the first ever motorcycle backflip attempted by a female rider inMunich.

Danny Torres. photo: Oliver Franke /

The excitement in the Olympic Hall built up to fever pitch for the final. The three Spaniards, two Frenchmen and one Czech were driven on to heightened levels of performance by the frenetic atmosphere. Unfortunately for Melero, the double-up didn’t quite come off, and he finished back in sixth. Miralles laid on his best run of the season to earn himself a respectable fifth place. Brice Izzo pulled a Tsunami Flip to take fourth. Libor Podmol saved his pièce de résistance – an Underflip Indy – for the last jump and timed it to perfection.

Libor Podmol. photo: Oliver Franke /

Although it was good enough for a podium, it still fell short of what Rinaldo and Torres would now serve up. Both executed a Double Seatgrab Backflip. Rinaldo came up with triple combos and various landing and take-off tricks. The Spaniard responded with Lazyflip, Oxecutioner, Paris Hilton and Barhop to Indy Superflip. In the end, Dany Torres finished one point ahead of Rinaldo and was delighted with his maiden NOTJ victory.

David Rinaldo. photo:  Oliver Franke /

David Rinaldo continues to lead the overall standings of the Freestyle MX European Championship on a score of 58 points. In second place is Brize Izzo on 48, closely followed Libor Podmol on 46. The decisive round of the FMX European Championship takes place on the weekend of 24th/25th May in the context of NIGHT of the JUMPS inHamburg.

Final Results:

1. Danny Torres

2. David Rinaldo

3. Libor Podmol

4. Brice Izzo

5. Jose Miralles

6. Maikel Malero

7. Kai Hasse

8. Aleksey Koleshnikov

9. Chris Brock

10. Maxime Gregoire

11. Hannes Ackerman

Best Whip:

1. Chris Brock

2. Kai Hasse

3. Maxime Gregoire

Race & Style:

1. Brice Izzo

2. Josse Miralles

3. Kai Hasse

Facebook Comments