NSW’s Joel Brown has been crowned the 2014 Australian FMX Championships champion after winning the fourth and final round of the series at Mackay, Qld over the weekend.

Brown, 28, entered the Precise Pro Open as the heavy favourite to take the title after previous series leader Matt Schubring and third placed Callum Shaw were both absent due to other riding commitments. Still, Brown was forced to give it his all as he fended off a rapidly-improving Pete Anderson and the always competitive Luke McNeill.

 2013 Precise Pro Open podium: L to R – 2nd Pete Anderson, 1st Joel Brown, 3rd Luke McNeill – photo: Grant Cross

“I entered the final round at Mackay thinking I’d be able to take it a bit easy, but those plans went out the window during practice when I saw how well everyone was riding,” admits Brown. “Pete Anderson in particular had stepped up his game hugely since the previous round at Boonah and I had to pull out all the stops to take the win.

“I’m rapt to finally win a national title,” he said. “I’ve put in a lot of hard work over the past two years to get to this point, but the reward has been worth it. You can’t wipe the smile off my face.”

 Pete Anderson, Cordova flip – photo: Grant Cross

Meanwhile, NSW’s Tom Robinson impressed both the judges and his rivals has he claimed the Tyrone Gilks Memorial Underground Championship title on his way to fourth overall on the day.

It was also a momentous event for Morgan Gilks, the brother of the late, great Tyrone Gilks, and Toowoomba’s Tyler Wakeford, who both landed his first-ever Backflips to dirt without even attempting the trick into the foam-pit.

 2013 AFMXC champion Joel Brown, Seatgrab flip – photo: Grant Cross

Series judge and one of the championship’s organisers, Cameron Sturtridge, says the riding level from all riders exceeded any previous year since the series began in 2007.

“It goes to show that this model works for progressing the sport; we’ve provided a platform so riders can set goals and progress in a safe and supportive yet competitive environment,” Sturtridge says. “With more industry support we can continue to move forward and grow the series, not only next year, but well into the foreseeable future.”

 Luke McNeill, Superflip – photo: Grant Cross

Precise Pro Open results

Joel Brown 25

Pete Anderson 22

Luke McNeill 20

Tom Robinson 18

Gyles Stainton 16

Joe Sheppard 15

Tyler Wakeford 14

Zac Mackenzie 13

Morgan Gilks 12

Tim Egan 11

Daniel Coe 10

Ethan Burns 9

Australian FMX Championship

1. Joel Brown 70

2. Luke McNeill 55

3. Matt Schubring 47

4. Tom Robinson 43

5. Callum Shaw 40

6. Pete Anderson 38

7. Tyler Wakeford 36

8. Ryan Brown 29

9. Joe Sheppard 26

10. Zac Mackenzie 25

11. Brodie Markham 25

12. Daniel Coe 23

13. Brodie Carmichael 19

14. Gyles Stainton 16

15. Luke Davey 16

16. Steve Sommerfeld 14

17. Ethan Burns 13

18. Aaron Guthrie 13

19. Morgan Gilks 12

20. Jake Smith 12

21. Tim Egan 11

22. Marcus Henderson 10

Tyrone Gilks Memorial Underground Championship

1. Tom Robinson 43

2. Callum Shaw 40

3. Tyler Wakeford 36

4. Ryan Brown 29

5. Zac MacKenzie 25

6. Brodie Markham 25

7. Daniel Coe 23

8. Brodie Carmichael 19

9. Gyles Stainton 16

10. Luke Davey 16

11. Ethan Burns 13

12. Aaron Guthrie 13

13. Morgan Gilks 12

14. Jake Smith 12

15. Tim Egan 11

16. Marcus Henderson 10

For more information and updates on the AFMXC series and the Precise Pro Open, visit:





Facebook Comments